top of page

A Battle Almost Lost

mini_van_12.jpg

Or as my husband might think, a battle almost won. Do you ever see those advertisements that give you a list of symptoms, which, if any or all apply to you, you must immediately seek medical consultation?

  1. I'm a fairly new mom

  2. I'm Dutch

  3. I'm Christian Reformed

These qualification seem to require me to seek vehicular consultation. You see, we currently drive a small compact Kia Spectra. Although it is big enough for the three of us, and can just barely fit our families belongings and our dog on weekend trips, once another child enters the picture, this car will no longer suffice.

For the last while my husband and I have been, dare I say, lusting over the Dodge Journey. I mean really, how more ideal can a car get? It has seven seats, it looks cool, and best of all it's not a mini van. I loathe the mini van. Our family never grew up with the mini van. Our family also didn't grow up with car seats and boosters and so a van was never required.

I find it to be a very big, bulky and ugly vehicle. I mean sure it has tonnes of space and I understand that with kids it is very practical. But it looks so uncool. I don't want to be an uncool mom. I want to be the cool SUV driving mom! And with my kid's Vtech gogo minivan vehicle singing to me about it's amazing attributes, I'm finding my battle against the van becoming much more difficult.

Do I sacrifice my van loathing pride and give in to being a mini van mom?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page