top of page

Wubbanub, and the Hearth


The Hearth.

My husband had a couple days off for the holidays, which is nice because that means we can get a couple home projects done, you know the ones that didn't get finished last time. For example, our bedroom wall, is not quite finished. It still needs paint on one wall and trim here and there, But did we do that? No, of course not. Instead we did another project, we re-did our mantel above our non-working fireplace. The only supplies we needed were a couple planks form Lowes. The hinges we found at an abandoned farm, and the stain we had from, you guesses it, a previous unfinished project. (it was the stairs going to our basement, which we actually did finish over the holidays).While my husband was doing most of the handy work (not that I'm not handy, I just really don't like our mitre saw, and I have a newborn stuck to me), I created an art piece for above the new mantle... well, I saw a piece on line and re-created it. The total cost for the mantle? Roughly $25

We'll leave the upstairs wall for next time...unless another project needs tackling.

The Wubbanub.

Ever see those small beanie baby sized stuffies with a soother attached to it? It's called a wabbunub. It's quite fun to say...wubbanub. They sell on amazon for about $20. Prices may vary of course, but why not make your own?

Supplies:

-a stuffie. I used one we already had, one of those blankie bears so no cost there.

-thread

-needle

-seam ripper or small sharp scissors...they have a name.

-soother ( has to have a ring or loop of some sort)

instructions:

1.make an incision with your seam ripper or scissors along the mouth of the stuffie. Bonus if your stuffie has a horizontal seam here. (mine didn't, it had a verticle one so I had some extra stitches to make to repair my surical mistake)

2.insert the ring of the soother

3.stitch the fabric back together around and through the ring.

4.make sure to cut off any extra thread.

Another option would be to sew one end of a ribbon (5cm-ish) into the mouth of the stuffie and place a snap on the other end, then attach the soother with a snap. I think I will use this method next time, because then I have the option of removing the soother from the stuffie. I think for now this will work, it works for me, but I'm not sure how Mathijs feels about it...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page