top of page

The Home Management Binder

Or as I like to call it, the "Get-your-sh*t-together woman!" Binder. As a mom of a pretty much 2 year old boy (his birthday is this Sunday) and another baby boy due this October, I find it difficult at times to keep track of all the things I need to do around the home between diaper changes, lesson learning, snack eating/throwing, and baths.On top of keeping a child alive and occupied my mind is constantly filled with worries about what my son is getting into and trying to put my feet up for 5 minutes here and there to prevent vericose veins from taking over my entire body! I decided to reach out to the world wide web for help.

How can I organize my home, time and life, so that I can remember all the thngs I need to do during the day and week. How can I prevent bills from being forgotten about and chores from piling up into endless jobs?

I printed off the ones I needed in colour, and photocoppied any that I needed on a daily/weekly basis. for example, My weekly cleaning schedule I only need one copy of so I filled in the colour version. The Monthly calander I need a new one every month. So for that one I printed 12 black and white copies and used the colour one as a cover sheet for that section. That way I still have the pretty colour copy to keep in the binder and I can photocopy it when I run out.

I put each colour copy in one of those plastic sleeves, which you can purchase at the dollarama 10 for $1.25. I also purchased a simple slim binde at the same dollaramar that has a clear pocket on the cover to add a pretty covor sheet, also available in the printables.

I'm also not much of a cook. It's not a strong suit of mine, not something I get much pleasure out of. So I prefer to keep things as simple as possible without turning to too many processed foods. So I am starting to put together this simple recipe book of meals that take under an hour to complete or meals I can quickly make in the crockpot. Whenever I find a good, easy and quick meal on pinterest or on facebook, I jot it down in this little cue=card book, which I have divided into 4 alphabetical groups.

To make things even easier, I double the batch of food I make , so that I have enough to feed my family twice. That way I can vaccuum seal and freeze the second portion and have a meal for another time that I don't need to cook at all. All I need to do is open, and reheat. This is also a great prep for when the new baby arrives.

So how are my home management skills coming along? Let's say it's a work in progress, but it's a good start for now.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page