top of page

Editing My Pants

I find very early on in pregnancy, that even though I can squeeze myslef into my regular jeans, they are very uncomfortable at the waist. Last time around I bought a couple thrifted jeans quite early on. I think I may have been 7 weeks at the time I started wearing them. I bought decent looking ones that have the waist band all the way around rather than that weird kangaroo pouch. I didn't really think about the cut of the jean because it seemed unimportant to me at the time because I wore them at work.

Now that I am not at work, I want to wear jeans that are reasonably stylish. The jeans I bought last time were all a flare cut. Not terrible, it's typical, but this time I wanted skinny jeans and leggings. Even regular leggings are uncomfortable.

At Thyme Maternity, jeans range from $50-$120. and leggings go from $30-$70. Well I'm not about to spend $160- $$380 on pants that may not even fit me the entire pregnancy. Last pregnancy I went through all sizes because my body changed so much.

So I brougth out my jeans from almost two years ago. The ones I paid $5.99 for. That's right, six bucks. Not sixty.

And I changed them. Because I can. I want to help other pregnant ladies save themselves some money too because frankly, since we pretty much have to buy a new set of pants, I think pregnancy can be a real financial ripoff.

1. Take your thrift store maternity jeans, turn them inside out.

2. Put them on inside out and pin them to the tightness you want along the outside seam. Then CAREFULLY remove them.

3. Sew them allong the pins.

4. Cut off the excess. I left about 1 cm of fabric..

5. If you have a serger, serge the edge. Mine was not functioning properly so I did a zig zag stitch instead this time.

6. Turn them right side out again. and voila! you now have skinny jeans for $6.

Hooray thrift sores!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page