top of page

Thrifting My Pregnancy

Pregnancy can be a huge financial rip off. Seriously. I think I wrote about that in my previous post where I turned my old just-for-work maternity jeans into a nice pair of skinny jeans. Well now I want to share with you a bit more of my maternity closet. I see many people excited that they bought a pair of leggings, jeans and a nice shirt at maternity store for just under $150. And they are so happy that they got such a great deal. I'm glad for them, that they feel they have accomplished a deal. however, for me that's not a deal enough. I realize that while pregnant, we get fat, we get bulging unsightly veins and can, at times, feel pretty crumby and having a flattering outfit that fits and looks good can be very helpful. But it shouldn't cost us a fortune especially when in a year, maybe less, these clothes wont fit and wont serve much purpose. (With exception to that amazing waistband once ol'aunt flo returns with her hellish cramps and bloating!)

Everyone knows I love thrifting. If you havent figured it out yet, well, then I suggest you start at the begining of my blogging career and get to know me a bit. I think out of my entire maternity wardrobe I have bought one new item (aside from the undergarments of course...I do draw the line somewhere), and even that was a $5 shirt.

So I went through my closet, pulled out a couple key peices and took some selfies to show you what you can get at thrift stores. Remember, I'm not a fashionista, But I wouldn't say I'm a frump either. I shop almost exclusively thrift and I think I come out looking okay.

The Bottoms:

Denim skirt $5

GAP skinny jeans $9

Denim shorts $3

Brown khaki shorts $3

Army green Khaki pants (these button up to capris) $7

The black goes-with-all maternity leggin $5 I do own a couple pairs of maternity leggings because as you can see I have a toddler who smears unknown substances on me everday. For example, as I was modeling my outfits, he accidentally exploded a container of berry applesauce on everything within a 1m radius. So having an extra pair or 2 of these is great.

(The grey tank is not a maternity peice. This is a great and simple tanktop from giant tiger. I have a couple of these as they fit well, pregnant or not and super soft.)

So for the bottoms that is 6 items and so far I have spent a wopping $33

Tops:

White blouse $5

Navy and teal stripes $5

Black and white sweater $6

Green sheer $2

Red and White stripes $1

denim shirt $5

Silver and black silk tank (with pockets!) $3

Plaid shirt/dress (Also with pockets!) $5

Purple tank with cute frill $3

Let's total the tops: thtas 9 items, for a cost of $36. Yikes!

Dresses: (and one skirt)

Black full sleeve $5

Grey GAP skirt $5

Bottom left silk maxi dress... okay I splurged on this one. I have a wedding to go to soon...$12.

Pink dress $7

Blue and white maxi dress $7

That's 4 dresses and a skirt for $36.

Now let's total everything up. I have shown you some of the key peices in my maternity wardrobe. That's 19 articles of maternity wear for a grand total of..... $105

Most of the pieces in my maternity wardrobe origianlly come from Tyme Maternity or Motherhood with a couple othe brands in between. The bottoms I often match with basic non-maternity items such as my grey tank top so I don't even need to buy those seperate. I also already owned several empire waisted shirts which are basically pegnancy shirts so there is no need to purchase those.regular shirts a size or 2 bigger than what you are and belt them, hem a sleeve, be creative! You can also by Hopefully I have shown you that just becasue you now have a growing and rounding belly you don't need to spend a fortune or wear your grandmothers curtains, sewn into a moomoo. I'm glad I wasn't pregnant in the late '70's and 80's. Yikes! This a time of our lives ladies, when we should feel as amazing as we look! I mean we are growing little humans, and it takes a toll on our bodies. It's an exhausting role and we shouldn't have to pay twice as much to dress our changing bodies. Although you can if you want to.

I also want to share one other thrift item that I am so glad I found. I currently own a columbia backpack diaper bag and it's great. I got it 2nd hand for something like $3.But with another boy on the way (yay!) and both in cloth diapers plus I pack a lot of just-in-case stuff like snacks and extra outfits, I wanted something with extra space. Preferaby two large pockets to separate tiny diapers from a little bit bigger diapers and room for a wet bag and everything two boys might need. Diaper bags usually run anywhere from $50 to $100 depending on features, quality etc. I saw a couple that I liked and debated a couple online but I always hesitated becasue they were never quite what I wanted. Then I was in my favourite local thrift store, to which I happened to have a 30% off coupon, and I found this AMAZING bag:

Not only is this an amzing colour, especially with the gold accents, it can be carried as a shoulder bag or a backpack! It has a front zip pocket where i can keep my things, and on the inside it has two separate areas divided by a zipped pocket where i can keep the wet bag with dirty diapers!. I realize it's not technically a diaper bag but for me it is offering me everything I want in a diaper bag. And it's stylish, at least I think it is. Oh and after my thrift store discount, I only paid $10 for it.

Please excuse the open cupboards in my kitchen. you other mom's of toddlers know what it's like.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page